Animation and back to JavaScript

I figured I’d do a short update on my progress through freeCodeCamp Beta. I powered through the review of basic HTML and CSS modules as they were mostly unchanged from the Legacy version of fCC, however the review was helpful.

I may have jumped the gun and applied for an internship doing web development where I was sent a short test after my application was received. I think it was standard with very easy questions. The first question was a numbers puzzle, so it wasn’t really related to anything you learn in fCC or CodeAcademy. The second question tested HTML and CSS knowledge. The point of it was to test that the candidate knows #ID selectors take precedence over any terms within the <a> tag, and also over anything set with the .class selector.  The third question was JavaScript, so that was a little tricky.

This isn’t the exact problem but is pretty similar:

(function(){
... let num = 5;
... const bool = true;
... (num || bool) ? num++ : num--;
... console.log(num);
... }());

What is the value?     ——> 6

I’d seen these terms before but had to piece it all together. As I said, I completed the basic HTML and CSS modules in fCC Beta within an afternoon. The next module is called Applied Visual Design and reviews a lot of concepts like colors and fonts, but it also has new things to learn like graphics and animations. I think the animation part is pretty neat so I’ve been taking a little longer to get through keyframes. Accessibility is up next but I think I should also take JavaScript back up. I’m not sure if switching between languages is conducive to learning, but hopefully it won’t be too hard.

I’ve started where I left off on the Code Academy Intro to JavaScript and just last night discovered the Code Playground | Sololearn series of apps in the Google Play Store. I didn’t think a phone app could be useful to learn code basics, but in the hour I played with it I think it already filled in some concepts CA hasn’t yet mentioned. Like the <script> tag. Or that this is standard notation: (JS messes with WP, I’ll have to figure out why)

 <s c r i p t t y p e="text/javascript"
 s r c="code.js">< / s c r i p t >

The app will be useful when we’re traveling next week, though I found out this morning that they also have a desktop version. Apparently the Sololearn series is really good for basics, at least from what I’ve read in reviews. Check it out here.

Leave a comment